Training

Education

Includes teaching aquatics and coaching in Diving, Open Water, Swimming, Artistic Swimming and Water Polo. More information about these courses can be found on the IOS Website, also available on the IOS website is a full list of CPDs available in your area. 

Volunteer Training

We have a range of Volunteer Training which is crucial for any role within a club. This training includes Safeguarding, Time to Listen and Team Manager Training. Also for some roles there is a requirement for a DBS check. To view who needs safeguarding or DBS in a club environment, please view page 45 on WavePower Section 2.

Safeguarding Training

All Safeguarding workshops will be charged at a subsidised price of £10.00 per booking. 

To book into any of the below workshops please click the link next to the date where you will be transferred to the booking page. Please ensure you read all of the information and make payment, without this your booking will be removed from the system. 

Thursday 25th April 2024 FULL

Thursday 2nd May 2024 at 1800
FULL Sunday 12th May 2024 at 1300 FULL
Tuesday 14th May 2024 at 1800 FULL Monday 20th May 2024 at 1800 FULL
Tuesday 11th June 2024 at 1800 FULL Monday 17th June 2024 at 1800 Clickhere
Wednesday 19th June 2024 at 1800 FULL Wednesday 26th June 2024 at 1800 Click here
Monday 1st July 2024 at 1800 Click here Saturday 6th July 2024 at 900 Click here
Sunday 7th July 2024 at 1300 Click here Wednesday 10th July 2024 at 1800 Click here
Tuesday 16th July 2024 at 1800 Click here
Thursday 5th September 2024 at 1800 Click here
Monday 16th September 2024 at 1800 Click here
Sunday 22nd September 2024 at 930 Click here
Monday 30th September 2024 at 1800 Click here
Tuesday 1st October 2024 at 1800 Click here
Wednesday 9th October 2024 at 1800 Click here
Thursday 17th October 2024 at 1800 Click here
Tuesday 22nd October 2024 at 1800 Click here
Wednesday 6th November 2024 at 1800 Click here
Thursday 14th November 2024 at 1800 Click here
Tuesday 19th November 2024 at 1800 Click here
Wednesday 27th November 2024 at 1800 Click here
Thursday 5th December 2024 at 1800 Click here
Monday 9th December 2024 at 1800 Click here
Sunday 15th December 2024 at 930 Click here
Thursday 19th December 2024 at 1800 Click here

Click here to read the course booking policy

Please note alternative dates via Swim England IOS can be booked if the regional dates are not suitable or are full.  Please  use the following link for these alternatives:

https://www.swimming.org/ios/course-information/swim-england-safeguarding/

Time to Listen Training

Time to listen training is for any member who is going to become the club Welfare Officer, to attend this you must have first completed approved safeguarding training. Time to Listen training needs to be renewed every 3 years. 

We ask that you follow the booking link beside each date to book onto that particular session, each session is limited to 12 attendees.

Monday 15th July at 6pm FULL

If the link does not work this would mean that the session is full, if this is the case please email the Regional Office - swimsouthwest@swimming.org

Team Manager Training 

The Team Manager 1 Course is aimed at those who are starting out on their volunteering journey and focuses on single day competitions or camps where there is no overnight stay. It covers all aquatic disciplines and will be delivered via a two-hour webinar hosted on Zoom.

Team Manager Module 2 Course is aimed that those who have completed Module 1 and are looking to support their clubs at events that require an overnight stay or travelling away. 

  • Module 1 Wednesday 5th June at 630pm - FULL
  • Module 1 Monday 8th July at 630pm - FULL
  • Module 1 Wednesday 17th July at 7pm - FULL

Team Manager Module 1 Workshop Expression of Interest Form - Click here to register interest

For a module 2 workshop candidates must:

  • Be over 18 years of age.
  • Have attended a Team Manager 1 workshop  ( this must be attributed on the Clubs OMS system)  
  • Have an up-to-date DBS disclosure and approved in date safeguarding training  (this must be attributed on the Clubs OMS system )
  • Be a member of Swim England 

Our next Module 2 workshop will be: 

  • Wednesday 27th March 2024 at 6.30pm - FULL

Team Manager Module 2 Workshop Expression of Interest Form - click here to register interest.

*N.B: In order to complete TM2 EOI, you must have already completed TM1 workshop and have the required in date DBS and Safeguarding training in place.

When booking you are reminded that you must have Swim England Membership and please input your own membership number, we have had cases of individuals using their child's numbers, we will be checking all memberships and if you have not put in your own membership number you will be removed from the workshop. 

Regional Forums/Workshops

As a Region we are providing as many opportunities to communicate and discuss how things are progressing.

Regional Chair Forum - This forum is for any club Chair to attend to share ideas and discuss any club topics.

our next Chair Forum is on Wednesday 19th June at 7pm via Zoom - click here to book

Welfare Officers Forum - this forum is for any club Welfare Officer to attend. We aim to keep Welfare Officers up to date with any changes they need to be aware of and discuss any areas that they feel they may need some suppport with. 

Our next Forum is on Monday 20th May at 7pm via Zoom - click here to book

Who should you contact?

For general training enquiries and Safeguarding workshop enquiries please contact the Regional Team on swimsouthwest@swimming.org

For enquires regarding Teaching and Coaching contact Stacey Millett.

For enquiries regarding the Regional Young Volunteer Programme please contact Jackie Hilleard.

Judge 1 - New Process

Click here for a brief overview of the new process.

Click here to register your space for the J1 online.

Click here to register your space for the J1 online without Timekeeper.

All questions relating to the Judge One training should be directed to the Regional Officials Training and Development Co-ordinator on beardfamilyuk@icloud.com

Team Manager Development Opportunities

There are a number of opportunities for Team Managers who are interested in developing their career beyond their club involvement. 

Team Manager Role

Attendance at events such as…

County Development Pathway

Training Camps

County Team Manager

Inter-County Championships

Regional Development Pathway

Training Camps

Regional Team Manager

Overseas Camps

National Team Manager

Phase 1 & 2 Camps, Overseas Camps

If you are interested in developing further as a Team Manager within your County, the South West Region or nationally please email Stacey.millett@swimming.org who will be able to advise you of the opportunities available.

Loading... Updating page...